I Now Have FOUR R2R Machines Here- I REALLY Gotta Get To Working On Them

stevieb

Just another guy, really.
They are:

Fostex R8- 8 track, 1/4". Needs rubber, at least.

TEAC 3340B- 4-track, 1/4" Pinch roller won't move into position on it's own, prob. other issues (this one was a gimmie.)

TASCAM 38- 8 track, 1/2". Needs rubber, I think that's all.

Revox A77- 2-track 1/4" (consumer type deck, so it's 2 tracks one way, then 2 the other.)

All except the R8 will take 10" reels.

I figure, now it's time to get crackin' on them all.

Is there a single source for parts for ALL R2R machines? I am thinking I could save some $, at least on shipping.

Any general advise on repairing them? I am a noob at R2R repair...

And advise on those particular machines? Any of them worth repairing, or NOT worth repairing, in general?

Tell me about alignment tapes, degaussing tools, and other specalized stuff for R2R- how important are those things? How expensive are they? Can I make my own? How often should they be used?

I know there are people/groups who can convert a machine to 2-track- can I do it myself? I am thinking I's want to make either the TEAC or the Revox into a 1/2", 2-track machine. Should I stay with 1/4" on that project? Etc??

I promise, I will take pics of the heads and post here, soon. Just gotta figure out how to post pics here. Advise on THAT?

Okay: Rubber.

A rubber refurb will take care of most transport related problems, in many cases. The belts will stretch and fail eventually with age. The rubber may have stretched out a bit, or worst case may become a gooey tarry mess that no longer resembles rubber or belts, per se. You don't know until you get under the covers.