PA System for an idiot...

TelePaul

J to the R O C
I was wondering if someone could explian what the story is with PAs. I need something for practicing at home, just for D.I.ing a bass and for vocals. What's the deal with Passive vs Active Speakers? I'm assuming passive require a stand-alone amplifier?

Right now I'm looking at active sets like this one:

http://www.thomann.de/index.html?partner_id=97926&page=ie/the_box_pa108_a_mixer_bundle.htm

The speakers are 80w Bass, 50 watt treble, would that be loud enough for practicing?

I was wondering if someone could explian what the story is with PAs. I need something for practicing at home, just for D.I.ing a bass and for vocals. What's the deal with Passive vs Active Speakers? I'm assuming passive require a stand-alone amplifier?

Right now I'm looking at active sets like this one:

The speakers are 80w Bass, 50 watt treble, would that be loud enough for practicing?

hi telepaul. i have no experience with the products you linked, but as a general answer to your question of "is it loud enough?" the answer is maybe. what kind of music? is your band loud? will you be running anything besides vocals through it?