Original song and greetings!

Cullenszoo

I've been poking around the forum a bit and this is my first post.
First, I'm a musician, composer, engineer, mixer, and a few other hats. Basically I started recording songs that I write a several years back. I used Cakewalk Home Studio 9 back then and had NO idea about the art of mixing. Fast forward, I've spent the past couple of years tweaking older songs and applying tricks to the new songs I write.
I'm completely in the box except for a usb interface.

I would appreciate feedback on levels, little things that stand out, etc.

https://soundcloud.com/cullen-humphrey/what-about-love

Just looking at the waveform, it appears to be smashed to smithereens, no? I'm not sure if it's the limiting or what, but there is a white noise behind the entire mix. It might just be the guitars' high end, not sure without having the tracks to solo. There's a clarity that's lacking to the whole thing with that high pitched fuzz/noise.

Behind THAT, there seems to be a really good mix. But that noise is really holding it back.

It sounds to me as if its a low quality MP3 like it was not mixed down at 44100 but maybe half that? All the highs are swirly and inconsistent. If you can get that issue fix, it sounds like you would have a good song!

I agree with what Andy and brutish said. The mix sounds like the level of everything is slammed as hot as possible and that causes a lack of dynamics and clarity.
I think the song is great. It has a cool 80s vibe going on and a good lyric.

The first thing that struck me was, as Andrus said, it's pretty squashed. The next thing that struck me was that it seemed like everything was trying to be the center of attention. The vocal, guitar, keys, drums, bass, everyone. On a song like this, I think it should be the vocal.

The bass is pretty rumbly. I'd put in a low shelf, or roll off the low-lows.