Noisy monitors

Davenhurst

Word!

I recently bought a pair of Alesis M1Active 520 monitors. Overall I'm really impressed with them, getting some great sound in my ears. The only problem is that they seem to produce a little too much noise, I wouldn't really describe it as "hiss" because it's more mid-rangey. You get me? Even without an audio cable plugged into them, the noise is there. I'm a bit of a newbie, so I'll post this in the newbie section too, but could enyone offer some advice?

I don't know which of the following things matter, but they've all crossed my mind:

--- Use balanced XLR instead of balanced 1/4". Would that make any difference? Does balanced = balanced whatever the cable?

--- I'm running a lot of things off the same power source - laptop, M-Audio Projectmix Firewire interface, external drive, extra monitor, lights, modem, record deck. Actually, maybe I'll play with unplugging some stuff. I'm not using any special sort of plug board, any help?

--- Tried the gain knobs but even at zero the noise is there.

I'm sure there's more, I'll have a think. Any offers?

Ok, took a speaker to another room, plugged it in and still some noise. (No audio cable attached). I should point out - it's really not all that loud, but I have to do a lot of stuff at pretty low volume because of a pain-in-the-ass neighbour, I'd just prefer if it wasn't there. Is it just to be expected with active monitors? Would it help to get a gadget that supplies "clean" power, if such a thing exists?

not to be expected. my actives don't have noises.

power conditioners, "real" power conditioner$$..and strips with only capacitors placed across the receptcle in fancy boxes...and some wall strips protections, filtering... its a science in itself.

there's not much regulation on Marketing BS and hype.

I did read one thread where it was a capacitor in the actives though.Call Alesis Tech support sometimes they are aware of repeating issues.