Guitar Setup Question - Valid unexpected modification?

HomeRec

I have a very old but solid guitar that I've been playing for nearly many many years. I bought it used, so it's even older than that. Now in all that time, I never really had the guitar set up. Yes, I know, that's bad. However, it played fine, and being my first guitar, I didn't have any problems with it.

A few months back, I brought the guitar in for setup for the first time. The tech adjusted the electronics and the mechanical parts, but didn't do anything radical that I could see, and maintained the feel of the guitar. I was happy with the results.

Just recently, however, one of my frets developed a severe dent that caused one of the notes to just plain not work. I brought it to a different tech, and he said that he could take care of the problem, but he really pushed the fact that it needed a setup. I figured this was a standard part of taking care of the fret, and that the setup would be more simple adjustments.

Well, I was wrong. Everything about the guitar was changed, including the string heights and the feel of the guitar. Most notably, the brass nut on the guitar, whose appearance I had grown used to over nearly two decades of playing, was milled down into a new shape. This specifically was something that really shocked me. The tech explained that this was a fairly standard and necessary part of a setup, and the reasons behind what he did - something about allowing for better intonation and clearance. He even showed me guitars with a similarly-shaped nut. However, the fact remains that I had grown very used to the old nut style, and I was unhappy that such a modification was done without my permission.