Great 8 channel interface for reasonable amount of $$$$

yetipur

Best multi channel interface for the $$?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, I'm thinking of selling my analog 16 track studio( fostex e-16 and matching 16 chan 450 board and picking up digital.

Not sure what program yet though. Anyone have any comments on what a good multi channel( at least 8 chan) interface for the $$$ is?

Also, if I want to run mono and stereo out board rack effects( lexicons for example) to my digiatal recording, does this get run through the interface as well. I'm a noob sorry.

thanx

I have a RME Fireface 800 and the Octamic 8 pre.

Works great but its not cheap but you get what you pay for.

The one that may be better cost wise is the firestudio by Presonus can be added to using the ADAT connections.

But that my 2 Kw's for what it is worth

Also, if I want to run mono and stereo out board rack effects( lexicons for example) to my digiatal recording, does this get run through the interface as well.
There are some interfaces that have inserts that allow you to patch in outboard hardware such as EQ and compressors for tracking.

As far as reverbs are concerned, depending on what DAW you are using or choose to use, you can run your tracks out of one of the outputs that's hooked up to your rever (ex. Lexicon) and then bring that back in through another set of inputs.

Most decent multichannel interfaces should allow you to do this no sweat.

As for recommendations on particular hardware, I second the question: What's your budget?

I used to have an RME Fireface 800. Hardly used it and eventually sold it when taking a break from recording. It was too good and expensive for what I did or needed anyway and I could use the money back then.

Recently I picked up recording again. Got myself an M-Audio Profire 2626. I had good experiences with M-Audio products in the past and the great set of features were the deciding factor.