Basic oscilloscope help

famous beagle

Hey y'all,

So I just bought my first hardware oscilloscope off ebay. It's mainly just a curiosity, although I would like to make use of it with regard to calibrating tape machines (azimuth, etc.) eventually.

However, it arrived slightly damaged -- the handle is broken. The seller told me he can send me another handle, but before I do that, I wanted to verify that it was still functional.

Since I've never used one before at all, I was wondering if someone could instruct me on a very basic setup I could use to check basic functionality. I know I won't be able to completely put it through its paces, but I want to make sure it's not a dead stick at the very least.

Attached are the scope and probes I have.

Could someone possibly give me a very quick explanation on how I could quickly just make sure it's actually "oscilloscoping" the way it's supposed to be? It doesn't have to have anything to do with tape machines, music, or anything --- just whatever is quick and easy for a newbie like me (assuming that's possible).

Thanks!

Attachments

• Osc.jpg
    Osc.jpg
    122.8 KB · Views: 10
  • probes.jpg
    probes.jpg
    66.7 KB · Views: 10
Did you get the manual? You can check a 1 khz sine wave from any additive synthesizer speaker out, check electric guitar output signal for small levels things like that. Hopefully Dave will be along to give more helpful ideas

On the far left bottom corner is a little metal tab. You can clip your probes to that for testing. It says you should see 2v p-p @ 1khz. (p-p means peak to peak. Very top of sine wave to very bottom)

Did you get the manual? You can check a 1 khz sine wave from any additive synthesizer speaker out, check electric guitar output signal for small levels things like that. Hopefully Dave will be along to give more helpful ideas
I do have the manual. It's a bit daunting, to be honest, but I'm trying to find the info I need. I'm always watching a few YT videos.