Will this best suit me?

keyz

Hi all.. I'm new but I have some questions about getting set up for recording to my computer. Right now I have a keyboard and some guitars I would like to record. And then possibly lay down some vocal tracks in the future if I ever get a mic. I would also like to hook up my keyboard as a midi controller for software synths. So basically I'd like something that would allow me to do all this for as cheap as possible, but at the same time, I want nice quality. I'm just beginning with all this stuff so I don't need a 2000 dollar set up. :)

From what I hear, you can't go wrong with the m-audio stuff. What caught my eye was the Omni Studio with the Delta 66 card. I think you can get it new for around $220.00 bucks and I thought that was a pretty good deal. It's got the mic preamps, and enough inputs for what I'll be doing, I believe. I'll probably only be able to record 1 instrument at a time and vocals maybe so the inputs shouldn't be a problem will they? The only thing is that it doesn't have MIDI in or out. What midi interface should I be looking at then? Am I on the right track?

Right now I have a Soundblaster Live! 5.1 and I figure it can't do much for me. :) Any other recommendations? The Omnistudio really caught my eye but I'm concerned about the MIDI situation. The thing I like about the omni is that it has got the box and not a million cable coming out of the back of the card. My computer desk is a pain to get behind so I kind of want to avoid a card with a zillion cables coming out of the back.

Another question is.. can I use my 4 creative speakers and sub or do I need to get monitors? My friend said I could probably just plug them into the phones output jack. I dunno if it will work so I wonder. They are great speakers and I'd hate to discard them. Like I said, I don't think I will be cutting professional recordings but I want that flexibility.