Tascam PortaOne...and XLR inputs?

iheartblondie

Okay, I'm a pretty much a beginner at analog talk, but I'm trying very hard to learn so please bear with me.

I just picked up an old Tascam PortaOne 4-track and I'm trying to figure out...is there any way that I can hook up a microphone to this thing? All of my mics have XLR inputs (because they're modern mics!), not Line-In inputs. So, am I screwed? How am I supposed to record with mics?

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=oadx4y&s=7
http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=5aexpk&s=7

Please have mercy on a noob:confused:

Really depends on the mic you are planning - if its a cheapo you can get an XLR - Jack adaptor for about $10 from local electronic store or get a small mixer (preferably with phantom) that will give you XLR and balanced ins, enable you to EQ add effects etc for between $50 - $100

What kind of mics do you have.
You say they all have xlr plugs.
Do these mics not have a detachable cable.If so,just buy a cable with 1/4 plugs on them and plug directly into the Tascam.

Come to think of it,Im guesing you have attached cables.I have a ribbon mic with a permanent xlr cable.
Do as Bruiser said.You can buy an adapter for fairly cheap.

Come to think of it,Im guesing you have attached cables.I have a ribbon mic with a permanent xlr cable.
Do as Bruiser said.You can buy an adapter for fairly cheap.

Just FYI, the XLR jack/plug is not that much of a modern invention; it's been around for decades.

If you have mics that have attached cables with XLR plugs (I've never seen this, but I suppose they're made), then you'd just need an XLR to 1/4" adapter, like this:

Amazon.com: XLR Female To 1/4" Male Adapter: Electronics

If you have a mic that has an XLR male connection, then you'd just need to get a cable with an XLR female end and a 1/4" male end, like this:

Amazon.com: Pyle-Pro PPMJL15 Professional Microphone Cable (1/4'' Male to XLR Female, 15 ft.): Musical Instruments