Noobie question for mixers/recording drums

gixxer_25

Hello everyone! As you can tell I am totally new to this....1 post, YAY!

I have a 6 piece set that i am currently mic'ing with a Yamaha MG166CX-USB board and Audix mics then trying to record into either garage band or Cubase LE 5. I unfortunately have found out that my mixer will only send over a mixed stereo signal rather than individual channels like I was hoping. I have a couple of buddies out in California that want to work on a project and need me to throw down some tracks for them. I really want to be able to record individual channels from my 10 mics... 4 toms, 1 kick, 2 overheads, 2 on snare, and 1 on hi-hats. Can I still do that with what I have and just figure a way around or do i need to buy a different board? I keep reading posts from 2010 saying that USB cant handle it...is thsi still true or has technology now allowed for this?

Thanks again!

Easy. Tascam US 1800 is my suggestion for low budget and ease. Ignore BS you hear from those who have not used. Everything on my website in my signature line link was done with the the unit. 'note'

USB 1.0 can't handle it. I run 24 tracks via USB 2.0 without flaw. It has been a few years man... Actually, stop reading anything 'those who do not use' or 'those who do not know what they are doing' comments from anyone. Just because someone posted something, does not make it true.

This is what this site is for. Users that will be honest about what works and hopefully how to use it.

Don't listen to everything you read. There are idiots that don't have a clue. They are usually the ones who complain and make false comments.

You are a member of the site that will not lie to you now. Actually, it is not possible for anyone to lie to anyone here, because there are so many who are experienced and caring enough that they will shoot down an idiot just as fast as a spammer.

Welcome gix!