First attemp at bluegrass (help)!

Solafide

I Just finnished recording and mixing a cd for a local bluegrass group.

I just started working on the mastering stage (I recommended they get it mastered elseware as I have never done bluegrass before, but for they want me to do it).

I will be getting some reference cds next week, but I started messing around with it, and would like some input.

Here is what they told me:

- They don't want it to be bright.

- They want lots of bass

- warm in the lower mids

So here is a couple examples from the cd.

http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=3510&alid=-1

Am I going in the right direction? Any obvious mistakes?

Thanks.

I have issues getting audio streams across the firewall here at work, so I don't know what you've got.

But check out The Company We Keep by The Del McCoury Band for an idea of where to head.. They're kinda contemporary, but still have that "high lonesome" sound that's the roots of Bluegrass.. If you don't wanna spring for the CD, go to http://www.delmccouryband.com and listen to some of the samples under releases... Just keep clicking the album cover until you get there.. Another good source would be Dan Tyminski... For something more traditional, just about any Bill Monroe recording is it...

Thanks for the info. I'll definitely need some good referance matterial.

I'm having a tough time keeping the tracks warm without being muddy.
Once I get a little closer to the sound I'm looking for I might post for some more imput.

Thanks.

I changed the preferences on the songs at nowhereradio so you can download them if you want instead of trying to use windows media player.

Thanks for taking the time.

Nice instrumentation and vocals there, cool dobro playing. Great example of classic bluegrass. Good sounding mix too - full and clean with good separation and levels. Can you let us know what you used to record this.....(instruments/mics/pre's)..Thanks man!