Digital Mixer Issues (and a hello)

Fireal402

Eyeballs! OH MY GOD EYES
This is my first post here, so I might as well introduce myself. My name is Ben, and I own a small small studio. I've been into the world of recording since I was 14 (I'm older now, I guarantee), and I've been visiting this board for a few years. Now, onto business.

I am using a Soundcraft Spirit 328 Digital Mixer (though I don't believe that's of relevance to my problems) into an RME HDSP 96/52 with Cubase SX (and quite possiby Nuendo in a few months, I'm saving up for it.) I would LIKE to use the mixer as a control surface of sorts, but I've found more problems than I ever thought possible. When I used an analogue mixer in my setup, I routed the outputs of the RME into a D/A converter, and then sent the respective channels to the mixer. This gave me the option to pan stereo channels left and right, and move mono channels throughout the spectrum. Trying to do this with the Spirit 328, I run into routing issues.

If I make a mono channel, I have the option to route it to any channel of my choice (stereo or mono). But using a mono output, I lose the ability to pan unless I create a stereo group track for each channel and route it to a mono output. This seems needlessly time consuming, and so far I have not been able to figure out how to go about configuring it. Also, I lose the ability to pan the tracks, only the groups. Just a side note: I don't believe the mixer can transfer the stereo buss both ways over ADAT, only out. If it could do that, I would just make a master stereo track, and route that the the master fader, and use everything else as mono.