Can you tell me what i'm trying to do here?

blkarmphoenix

Hey everybody. I am completely new to the idea of recording from home. I have a small band, and we would like to start getting some things on the internet, and have realized the crappy computer mic wont do anymore.

My key concern for recording our music is the guitars. What I need to know is how to input a guitar so that it records straight into my computer without using an amp and a mic. Is this where a mixing board comes in?

Thanks for the help!

Dear blkarmphoenix,

you personalised number is 39. When you hear that number, you may approach the counter, where you will be attended to.

While you wait, do a google on USB interfaces.

A direct box (D.I.) will get your guitar signal into a mixer, but amplifiers are not just for making guitars louder, they are for imparting tone. A guitar connected directly to a mixer will rarely have the sound you need. To get good guitar tone at line level you will need some sort of preamplification plus some processing to simulate the sound of the amp/cabinet. There are many products out there that do both, a common one being the Line 6 Pod. Most of them will interface directly with a mixing board, eliminating the need for a direct box.

There are many options for getting your sound into a computer. Some will be integrated with a conventional looking mixing board. Others will simply have inputs, outputs and basic level controls. You have to decide how many tracks you want to record at any one time, if you need to be able to make more than one monitor mix at a time etc. If you want to record drums and have some control over the individual tracks during mixdown then you probably need a minimum of 4 inputs. If you want to record the whole band live to separate tracks then you need 8-24 tracks.

Last edited:
bouldersoundguy has given you a good start.

the earlier, more flippant, responses are a consequence of the enormity of your question.