AT2035 background noise problem..

ridexcy

Hello people,

i just started streaming games, and i just bought a AT 2035 microphone.. the problem now is it registers also all my background noises like when im hitting the keyboard buttons or when im shooting in the game everybody can hear it.. anybody has a solution how i can fix this? because im a rookie with computers.. :( every help will be appreciated

Hi,
It's not really a computer problem or something you 'fix' as such, but there are things you can do to help.
If you just think of the mic as an ear, that gets you half way there. Silly/obvious as it sounds, your ear would pick up the keyboard sounds too.

If you didn't want to hear them you might turn away, or move farther from, the keyboard.
You might get the person you want to hear to move closer to you.

Same rules apply with the microphone.

Either tilt it so the keyboard is in the mic pattern null (side on is usually safe - Not point directly at, or away, from the keyboard), move it farther from the keyboard, or move yourself closer to the mic and bring the gain down to compensate.

If you're using any processing, particularly compression, make sure it isn't exacerbating the issue.
If there are long periods without dialogue, you might want to consider a noise gate.

Unfortunately most capacitor microphones are very sensitive to airblasts when you're up close.
You might need to use a foam ball or pop filter. Some people opt for dynamic microphones because they're generally much more forgiving, that way.

thanks for the quick response! what you said really makes sense. you have any suggestions on which foam ball / popfilter i can use at my at2035? i check around and there are so many different ones

Unfortunately most capacitor microphones are very sensitive to airblasts when you're up close.
You might need to use a foam ball or pop filter. Some people opt for dynamic microphones because they're generally much more forgiving, that way.