Art & Lutherie?

Nightfire

Aspiring Idiot
Anyone own any of their guitars? They claim the guitars are 100% made in Canada, and the prices are decent.
I think they're owned by Godin, though I have no experience with Godin, but I heard good stuff. Is this like the Squier of Godins?

http://www.artandlutherieguitars.com/guitars.htm

This is the one I'm eyeing

gtramicedantbst.jpg

Price tag of about $250

Mike

Both Godin and Art & Lutherie, as well as Seagull, Norman, LaPatrie, and Simon & Patrick, are made by LaSiDo Corp. The largest guitar manufacturer in North America.

http://www.entrepreneur.com/tradejournals/article/print/60590358.html

Godin is their electric line. Seagull is probably the best of their acoustic line. The Art & Lutherie instruments are decently made and are their entry level line. I have a parlour size Art & Lutherie "Ami" and it plays quite well. FWIW, the guys in Los Lobos bought a bunch of them as gifts from a friend that owns a guitar shop.

I bought one of the "Ami" ones like Pohaku's talking about for my son for his 10th birthday (the "Ami cherry") -- we've had it for over three years now, and it still impresses -- well built and good sounding little guitar.

Good to hear, the Ami are the ones I'm eyeing since Ive been dying to get a parlour sized guitar for campfires and coffehouse performances, etc.

What will the tonal difference between spruce and cedar top be?

And lastly, how loud are these things? I would imagine a smaller body size equates smaller sound...:confused:

Mike

Good to hear, the Ami are the ones I'm eyeing since Ive been dying to get a parlour sized guitar for campfires and coffehouse performances, etc.

What will the tonal difference between spruce and cedar top be?

And lastly, how loud are these things? I would imagine a smaller body size equates smaller sound...:confused:

Mike