Analog Digital Integration Setup

jay Burd

I'd love to pick up an 8-track tape machine to record foundational tracks and then somehow transfer individual tracks onto a DAW where I can continue to work on songs. I am new to analog recording so I could use some help to wrap my head around on what gear I would need to pull this off. Thanks! I currently use a tascam DP24 SD as my digital workplace.

All you need is whatever tape machine you decide on, and cabling to connect the tape machine outputs to the DP24. Does the DP24 have at least 8 line level inputs and can it record at least 8 tracks simultaneously? If so, then you just need cabling to go from the 8 tape outs to 8 line inputs on the DP24. On the front end you’ll need your sources and some way get those to line level if they are not already. This may be an analog mixer, or it’s possible you can use the DP24 mixing section as your tape machine front end. I don’t know anything about the DP24. Depending on the tape machine you may need some means of cue monitoring as well, and, again, this could be the DP24, I just don’t know. The procedure is to record your tape tracks, then dump those simultaneously to the DP24.

If you're going to do punch ins on the tape deck, you'll need enough routing to cover that. I don't know if the tape machine would provide sufficient monitoring, but a 16-channel mixer with direct outputs on 8 channels would do it. You could even adapt inserts to that purpose. That would be using the mixer as a split console, the first 8 inputs feeding the deck and the last 8 inputs for playback from tape.