Advice on analog setup.

Robertobly

Hi, first post! Sorry if it's long & apologies in advance for my primative understanding.

I'm looking into recording a small acoustic band using analog equipment, hopefully using a 'reel to reel' multitrack tape recorder. Eventually I want to make CD's & maybe vinyl pressings of the recordings. The sound doesn't necessarily have to be of the highest, 'cleanist' quality as I fully intend the final recordings to sound like it is actually a RECORDING! I am looking for good, solid working equipment that is efficient at getting the sound I'm looking for.

The band will consist of vocals, Martin acoustic guitar, small vintage acoustic drum kit & 1977 Fender Mustang bass played through a small vintage bass amp. I will post elswhere for advice on which mics to use for this setup, but any advice here would be most welcome (good condenser for guitar? / SM57 for bass amp? / SM57 for kick drum & snare? / not sure for drum overheads?)

I am quite new to the whole recording process. Thus, I'm not actually 100% sure of how I should seteup a rig to achieve what I'm after. I have been reading around the subject for a week now & my best guesses at the moment are:

1. Various MICS > stand alone PREAMP > analog MIXER (connected to monitors) > reel to reel RECORDER > Then back through the mixer & out to > stand alone HD master recorder & CD writer -OR- good ADC/AI with good ADCs & DACs > PC with DAW > CD writer

2. Various MICS > anolog MIXER with good PREAMPS built in (connected to monitors) > reel to reel RECORDER > Then back through the mixer & out to > stand alone HD master recorder & CD writer -OR- good ADC/AI with good ADCs & DACs > PC with DAW > CD writer

Firstly, are these correct or am I missing something important? Could I use a mixer with a built in Audio Interface? External master clock? Would I need an anti-aliasing filter anywhere here?

From my various readings here are some ideas I have for equipment: