Acoustic Guitar suggestions...

downatone

I'm looking to buy my first acoustic, I've been playing guitar for a good 7 years, so am not a noob. I've been playing my electric or dads acoustic, but am finally in a position where I can afford a decent acoustic. I've budgeted around $1500 CA ....
So - what are peoples suggestions?
Good guitars in that price range?

I like the sounds of some of the Larivee's (sp) and Tak's I've played.

:: downatone ::

Oh, (for what its worth) I WILL be doing alot of recording and playing through a system of sorts with this guitar, so I want the pickup sound to be brilliant (this is actually more important than the raw acoustic sound - although I'm sure they go hand in hand; to an extent)...

Also, anyone know of any good Canadian stores to checkout?
I would normally use Long and McQuades or Steve's Music...

cheers
:: downatone ::

apl said:
The Carvin Cobalts seem to be a good value.

I second that. My C850 was an outright steal, looks like they've got a little promo going on them too. But with 1500 to spend you might think about stepping up to a Taylor

Larrivee comes to mind. Their origins are in Canada.

This is what I have:

http://www.larrivee.com/data/products/guitars/D-05E/D-05E.htm

except mine has the cutaway (DV-05E), a clear pickguard, and fishman electronics (mic and under the saddle). If you're mainly recording, get the models without the "E" since I would assume that you plan on micing the guitar...and I paid about $1000 USD for mine (got lucky).

I love my guitar...I haven't heard it's equal for under $2k.

I would shop around and play as many guitars as I could. Don't necessarily let the money dictate what guitar you choose. Let you ears tell you what guitar to choose.

I know that is of no immediate help but I have several acoustics ranging from $200 to $2000 and the low end Yamaha that I have blows away my Martin in sound. But then again I have a nice Tak that sounds excellent too.