What's the story with Epiphone?

Gibson's quality has been very inconsistent lately.... The Tribute LP's And SG's I tried out had runs in the paint, terrible fretwork and setups..

I would never be taken seriously showing up with a Gibson knock off in a pro band or gig. Just like slammer, ltd, squier.

Most non-musicians don't know the difference,and I'll take a guy who can play with a Squier over a guy who can't with a Gibson.

It's totally a coincidence but today i suddenly had a jones to use my $140 Xavier tele thinline (in red metalflake!!! :) ) for my gig today.

:D

Hope people will believe I'm a pro.

It's totally a coincidence but today i suddenly had a jones to use my $140 Xavier tele thinline (in red metalflake!!! :) ) for my gig today.

I have a similar Xavierre tele (Blonde flamed maple) and sanded off the logo decal. The headstock cries non-Fender, but people will think it's custom made just for me. It kind of is, now.

Of course, I don't gig, so it doesn't matter.... :rolleyes: :D

My guess is they all took one look and chorused "what a chump... Lets hit the bar this is gonna be shit"

I only do about 150 paid gigs a year and only done it for about 30 years so I still need the brand name on my gear..:D

I only play in my living room.
If it doesn't say Les Paul or Stratocaster on it, not even my dogs respect me, let alone my lady friends.

Totally agree, you will never regret having bought the real thing. I bought a Les Paul over 40 years ago. I was earning $80.00 a month and the guitar cost around a year's wages. I still have the guitar and it is the best investment I ever made in both playing and a piece of history terms.
A real SG is what, $700?

Amortize the difference in cost over the 20 years that you will play it.

Get a real one.