Which set up should I get?

jigfresh

Enjoying life
Hello everyone,

I am new to the whole recording thing. I've played guitar for 25 years or so, was in a band in high school. We put out 3 records, but I never paid a cent of attention to either the home recordings the other guys set up, or at the two studios we recorded in. Really wished I would of now... oh well, I was a real idiot as a young man. :)

In August my daughter was born and I have been playing guitar a LOT since her birth. She likes me playing guitar a lot more than me playing video games. Since I have been playing so much got a new guitar and have been looking into recording my stuff here at home.

I had been using my Boss GT10 multi effects pedal to record with. It has a USB out and I can run it into my laptop, using Audacity. It works pretty well, I just really want to get my amp on tape (or whatever you say now). I have a Fender SuperChamp xd (Combo amp 1-12") with an upgraded speaker and I really love the tones I get from it. I want to record those tones as best I can on a budget.

At this point I already have 2 mic preamp units. I got them on sale for $10 each at guitar center.
Behringer MIC200 Tube ULTRAGAIN Preamp

I've been looking at what kind of interface and mic to get and my mind is spinning. Mostly I want to record the guitar, but I'm sure I'll want to do vocals at some point, and my wife does podcasts, so we'll most likely use the setup for that too I guess. But that's an afterthought.