Violin New Age - Used different mic'ing technique.

PoeticIntensity

MagicJones.com (is a website)
This one came out quite good, I do believe. It's been awhile since I've posted anything, so I thought I'd see if I'm up in the air again with my mixes. This place always tends to bring me back to earth.

This one is from a client whose music does a good job of inspiring me. It's far from perfect, but his playing is so honest, it's hard not to feel inspired from music like this.

Anyway... Enough of the cheese.

It's been awhile since I used this mic'ing technique, and I've never used it on a violin before. Can ya guess what it is?

Any and all comments welcome.

Nepal

Nepal Updated

Last edited:
Great stuff - I found the violin was a little out front for me. I'd want it more even with the keys. But, I'm not familiar with a) what the client wants or, b) what would be the norm for this type of instrument. It's certainly a good recording so well done there. It sounds like one mic but I'm guessing you probably used two?
You're certainly getting some great people into your studio and you sound like you're pretty in demand around there (for good reason). :D

No, it's not perfect but I like that it's so simple!

I don't know how you did the violin, but it sounds very close whatever it was. Is it a lapel mic or something?

very nice J, love the sounds, reminded me of the soundtrack from the Firefly series lol

nothing on the mix, all sounded good to me...but i wouldnt know where to start anyway..

ta for sharing :drunk:

I thought it sounded real good. The reverb on things was perfect for the music.

Maybe lower the seashore level at the beginning. It tends to dominate just a bit too much.

On the violin, there is some frequency that kind of stings the eardrums here and there. Somewhere between 2600hz and 2900hz. I think a *very* narrow notch of maybe 6dbs or so would take care of it.

Nice music, uplifting.