Tascam TSR 8

Monkey Allen

Fork and spoon operator
I see one of these in my city for about US$970 apparently in decent full working order + 9 tapes...or tape reels, not sure. I think 9 tapes.

You reckon that's a silly price, ok or what?

I've read some pros and cons of these units. What are your thoughts?

Thanks

That seems to be around the going rate for a working machine, actually slightly under that, I think.
I adore mine. I am still using it in my workflow even though I have a 24-track, since the auto-punchin works so well for things that need that level of attention. With the right accessory it can also slave to another deck, a feature I use to transfer from the vocal/guitar work tape to the 24-track master.

Thanks. I've got no experience with reel to reel whatsoever. I have only done DAW stuff and Portastudio stuff ages ago. I've read that because the TSR 8 has only one (or is it two) heads that it is not so easy to calibrate...or something along those lines. Not sure. Do you know anything about that?

I kind of plan to use it in a basic way to start with...like sending a stereo drum mix out to tape...or sending stuff I've recorded digitally out to tape and then back into the DAW. Is this the kind of machine that imparts the kind of saturation I might be expecting? Or is it pretty clean and hi fidelity?

Thanks. I've got no experience with reel to reel whatsoever. I have only done DAW stuff and Portastudio stuff ages ago. I've read that because the TSR 8 has only one (or is it two) heads that it is not so easy to calibrate...or something along those lines. Not sure. Do you know anything about that?

I kind of plan to use it in a basic way to start with...like sending a stereo drum mix out to tape...or sending stuff I've recorded digitally out to tape and then back into the DAW. Is this the kind of machine that imparts the kind of saturation I might be expecting? Or is it pretty clean and hi fidelity?