Recording a song - at home....

airyellis

Hi,

So I have a little set up in my home. My goal is to be able to use my computer to record a song using a karaoke track. I've been trying to find an answer all over and can't seem to find what I'm missing. (I'm pretty new with all of this)

To give you an idea of what I'm working with;

My "set - up"
561793_10151145302106985_2027654804_n.jpg

My mixer is;
68859_l.jpg

Very basic, mixer and mics.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

What you need is an audio interface that will convert the analog audio signal to digital so you can then send it (via USB is typical way) to the computer and the software you are using. I suggest you read the computer recording sticky thread at the top of this forum.

Is there a way to connect the mixer to my computer? ( I prefer not using a USB mic )

You can keep your current mics, and use an audio interface like the others have mentioned. I've used a Tascam US-122L in the past (the updated version of that one is called the US-144), and I would recommend something like that. I found mine cheap on eBay for around $40-50 bucks.
The Lexicon that arcaxis mentioned also does the same things as the US-122L.

All you then need to do is simply install the driver from the manufacturers website (or from the disk that usually comes with the un-used ones), plug in the USB cord from the interface into to you computer, connect your mics via the XLR inputs on the interface, and your ready to rock.

But you may also need a software program like Audacity for example (which is free, basic, and easy to use), to record your audio into.
And from the program, you can then export an audio file of the track(s) you just recorded.

The mixer you have is analog, so you won't be able much in terms of recording to a computer. And the actual audio interface connects via USB, not the mics.
So no USB mic comes into play in this situation.

Hope this helps ya out, let us know if you have any more questions! :)
-DR