Newbie analog frustration

desmond22

Hi all.
Im new to this type of recording(with tape)
Ive got a TSR8 in pretty good nick which i had serviced after i bought it and its all good supposedly. The only thing is it seems to leave shards of tape behind after playing which i cant imagine to be good.
Mixer is Tascam m216 which sweetbeats has been helping me get my head around.
Up and running a few days. Ive got ATR magnetics tape. First song was just acoustic. First recording sounded awesome but the arrangement wasnt right so im recording again.
Im having so much trouble and its taking so long to do a guitar track. Im using the dolby. During recording it sounds fine, but on playback it sounds overly compressed and quiet, waving in and out sonically.
The mixer was cheap and might need repair, but its most likely operator error.
there is also alot of spill onto neighbouring tracks. when i solo track one, i can here track 2 quite clearly.
im scouring the forum for info, but any advice, ideas are welcomed. Ive gone to Analog from pro tools and i find the sound unreal, plus loving not using computer for music. Its sort of similar when i started on the DAW. loads of tech hiccups. im at my most keen now to record, write etc with gigs lined up and the chance to have some nice CDs ready for them, but its never simple is it!!

Man that does sound frustrating. It sounds like a few things going on. For having just been serviced?? :confused: Did you try recording without the dolby?

hi

I just recorded with the dolby off and the vox came out so quiet. this could be because i had the dolby on for the first 3 tracks and the option for dolby is one button for 1-4 and another for 5-8. however with the dolby off, the guitar track that was waving in and out has stopped doing that.
i think the recorder is ok. if anything it will be the mixer, or my lack of knowledge in using this mixer. Its a bit of a weird one.