Looking for feedback/advice on my vocal mix (Iron Maiden cover)

aeldagrim

Hey guys,

This is my very first post here at HomeRecording.com. A few days ago I recorded my first Iron Maiden cover ever. I decided to give my own spin on "Wasted Years".

As most of you know, singing Iron Maiden is extremely hard. I'm not a professional singer, but I'm working on my vocals almost every day and I would love to improve.

I found the backing track on youtube and it sounds pretty good. Regarding the vocals they were recorded in my bedroom with a rode NT1-A. I have no idea how to mix the vocals
properly and I would love some feedback on what I did. There is no doubling of tracks and no tricks used to phatten up the vocals. I added a pretty standard compressor and also a tad
reverb. I also used something called boost11 (sonar cakewalk plugin effect). I know I should probably also used some kind of equalizer and delay but I have no idea how to use the delay
properly. When I add it and play with it it just sounds very bad. Regarding the equalizer I have no idea how to use it properly so I just left it out.

If anyone here have some free time on their hands and know how to improve my vocals, give it more punch and power, let me know. It would be cool with some studio magic to make me
sound good. I could upload the backing track and vocals if anyone would like to play with it.

Well, thanks for your time. I will definitely spend some time on this forum in the future.

Cheers from Northern Norway !!! :-))

/Trond

Use the MP3 Mixing Clinic section of the forum if you want feedback on your mixes.
Use the Singing and Vocals section of the forum if you want feeback on your vocals.

Note that to get responses, you've got to participate and give feedback toothers, too.

I scrutinized that and couldn't determine it's the same person. Different countries, etc. I think one copied from the other.