Just Getting Started

Status
Not open for further replies.

jack1031953

Hi all. My name is Jack. I am a musician and my gig venue is retirement homes.

I've been doing it 8 years and would like to get into recording for 3 reasons:

1. I would like to post clips of my guitars on Acoustic Guitar Forum.
2. My mother is 79 and lives a few states away. Since I do mostly music from her generation, I would like to be able send her songs.
3. I would like to make CDs, sell them for a couple bucks and give the proceeds to the different ministries we have at church.

Here is what I have so far; Studio One 3 Artist Version, I have a Blue Yeti and sound pop in route.

I want to get the shock mount for Blue Yeti, a deskmount arm for the microphone, and a pair of headphones.

Anyone who has some suggestions on shock mount, deskmount arm, or headphones, feel free to suggest.

Also, I will have a ton of questions about Studio One if anyone is familiar with it?

Thanks,

Jack

Hello Jack and welcome..
Ho dear! Just as we got one guy straightened out re USB mics, here we go again. There must be some bloody good salesmen around!

First up, you need an Audio Interface. This will handle any microphone you are likely to come across. "Proper" mics have connectors on their bases called "XLR" and you connect them to an AI (or mixer or preamp) with an XLR to XLR cable.

Secondly, most of the recording experts here (I am not one, just a mere electronics tech) will tell you that you really need TWO mics to do justice to an acoustic guitar. This is not "stereo" (tho you can go that route) but picking up the string sound at about the neck/body join and the "body" tone when you aim the mic at the bottom bout.

So, sell the Yeti and look at the sticky list of AIs. I can recommend the Steinberg UR22, many like the Focusrites but take the 2i4 as the starting point.