I'm new to Cubase. Got a few questions....

soss

I have been using Reaper for a while and I have decided to try out Cubase. There are a few things I'm not liking so far:

1)Slow startup: Does Cubase have to load all those plugins on startup? Seriously, it takes almost a full minute just to load the program in Windows. It takes Reaper less than 5 seconds. Any way I can get it to load faster?

2)Why does the main project/track window (half) minimize itself when I open up the mixer(f3) window? This is incredibly annoying. :mad:

Hmm...Only takes 12 seconds to load here with C6. Which version of Cubase are you using and what are your computer specs? I have never seen the project window minimize when the mixer opens. Could possibly be a setting in preferences. Maybe try setting mixer to 'Always On Top'? IDK.

Recently installed Cubase 5 with default settings. Dual-core Athlon with 4gb Ram.

I have approximately 100 plugs including the many Steinberg ones, but I only have 20 checked off under "plug-in information". Does Cubase really have to "initialize" every single plugin when it loads?

Oh, when I say "minimize" what I mean is that the project window reduces it's width by about 1/3 while the height stays the same. Still very annoying to have to keep opening the project window to the full width every time. Makes no intuitive sense to me. I wish there was simple project/mixer toggle button.

Cubase should only have to initialize the plugins once. Subsequent startups should be quick.

So are you saying that every time you open the mixer, the project window changes size? Or is it just set at the wrong size when you startup Cubase. I don't see any way for that to be even possible. Btw, I have C5 as well and I could not reproduce what you are getting.

Hey thanks for helping me out.

Or is it just set at the wrong size when you startup Cubase.

Yup, it does that too when I open up a new default project. Is there a setting that controls that?