[SOLVED] I have a question about audio adapters...

Hrvach

So I've been watching a lot of videos about microphones, phantom power etc. and as you can all see I am pretty new at this stuff so don't get mad at me please :D. The guy I am watching is Podcastage and he stopped recommending Sabrent audio adapters because the company that makes them has changed the chip inside and now it doesn't provide enough voltage for the microphone. My question is: "Will me buying a Phantom power supply fix the entire problem or am I gonna have to spend a 100$ (which I don't have) on an audio interface?"

My question if the cheaper method works is: "Do I even need the audio adapter or can I just plug the XLR to 3.5 mm jack cable directly from the Phantom power supply to my PC?"

If you need the link to the video just ask.

Again I apologize for the (maybe) stupid questions and the long post. I am new to all of this and I hope that you will help me.

When I was looking for additional Phantom, I bought a cheap mixer. The inline Phantom power box should be fine.

Anything Sabrent is consumer-grade crap intended for laymen to be able to run skype or talk shit to people while playing video games. If you're looking for anything like professional results, look for a real audio interface. Many of them include 48V phantom power that will run an XLR condenser mic. Then again, the fact that you're even talking about Sabrent makes me wonder if you're talking about electret mics which generally have 1/8" connections and run off of 5V power which is not at all the same thing, so a real phantom power box won't help with that.

One question might be; Use a dynamic mic. Why spend on a phantom powered mic + power supply going to '3mm pc sound card?