I am a sucky guitarist because:

What makes you such a blowy guitarist?

• I don't know enough theory

Votes: 37 33.3%
  • My picking hand feels like a brick

Votes: 20 18.0%
  • My fretting hand is glacially slow

Votes: 24 21.6%
  • I blame my equipment (piece of shit guitar, amp says "Crate" on it, etc.)

Votes: 3 2.7%
  • I sound like crap unless I use a boatload of effects

Votes: 2 1.8%
  • Er...because I'm a drummer?

Votes: 12 10.8%
  • I'm refuse to play anything but "Smoke On The Water" on my Fender So-Cal

Votes: 2 1.8%
  • My name is acidrock

Votes: 11 9.9%

• Total voters
Can't synchronize both hands at extreme speeds and I often suffer from lack of stamina when playing complex palm muted rhythms for a long time. I voted for 'my name is acidrock'.

I'm an incredibly inconsistant player. Some days I'm noticably more accurate than others. Some days I totally can't even play my own tunes.

My brain is way slower than my hands. If I could only think four measures ahead of my hands, life would be better. So I guess that means I need to master more theory.

Lack of time to practice is the biggie for me. I'm, by and large, ok with my phrasing, and I've been playing long enough to get to the point where the technique limits I have I look at as part of my style as much as anything else.

But, the whole graduating from college and getting a real job is what's doing me in. When I have time to get in a couple hours of practice a night, I'm generally pretty happy with my playing, but these days that's rarely a sure thing, so more often than not when I pick up the guitar to record, my technique is rusty so I'm fighting to do things that should be easier for me, and my calluses are shot after only a few takes. It sucks. :/

Aside from that, my picking hand has always been my weak link.

You forgot an "all of the above" option. :o

Unpossible! Acidrock may be a freelance horse fellater, but even he would never stoop so low as to play a So-Cal. :eek::D