Hypomania

BillyBenson

Here's a track I just finished mixing today. Just used basic eq cuts/boosts, some comp, multiband on the master along with some overall eq (LinEQ), and a master limiter for loudness.
I've been mixing for like.. hmmm, 4 months.. self taught.. trying to find a studio around town for some hands on learning.. may go to school for this. Point out all flaws, please (I live in a town full of people who think anything audible sounds good, so not much help from the local music scene).

Tic Tic Tic. You've got some clipping going when it all hits. I like the hammered industrial piano sound (@ about 2:05-2:20 & 3:05 to 3:20). Nice, warm pads.

literally been sitting here waiting for a relpy, haha. >__< how do i determine clipping? i think i've got that & peaking confused.

We may be talking about the same thing. I'm hearing a loud TIC at certain spots in the mix where the mix peaks. Clipping usually lasts longer, but I just called it that for a quick mention.
You should be able to see in your DAW (not sure what you're using and it wouldn't help me to know as I only use Reason), but there should be something that shows your clip (red light usually) and your meters should go in the red in correlation with each of those tics.
You can do a manual compression by zooming in on the waveform until you have a very few waves. Center on where the click occurs. Zoom in until you start to see waves, not block. Look for waves that are square on top and bottom and banging against the 0dBFS mark. Use whatever cut tool or what-have-you in your DAW to mark either side of the offending waveforms. Select and grab the white/red horizontal line that goes across the cut clip and pull it down. Loop and listen as you pull down until the loud click goes away. Repeat as necessary.
:D

Sorry I didn't get back to you last night. My wife came home and we sat down to relax before bed.