how do you get that Zed Leppelin sound?

kidkage

Bored of Canada
And by "how do you get that Zed Leppelin sound?" I mean, "Will you guys recommend some solid overheads?"

I've been using Studio Projects B1's for 2 years now. Ready to move on up in the overhead world here in some months.
I'm looking to spend between 600-800 for the pair.

As it is now I'm using a 4 mic set-up. Kick, snare, OHs (bouncing between Recorderman and G.J.).
Never really thought about close mic'ing my toms (2 racks, and a floor).

A really big room with great room mics. And one other thing, a drummer that plays Zeppelin well. :)
Yeah, I was going to add that. John Bohnam's playing style is a HUGE part of the "sound". No doubt Page played a big part as producer of the band, but Bonzo's way of playing is really the main ingredient of the sound.

I beg your pardon my analysis.

"how do you get that Zed Leppelin sound?"
Do you mean just for the drums ? It's a question that can be easilly misunderstood. I think I have !
I love their music and for me, they are one band that really exemplify what it means to be "the sum of their parts". I think if any one element was taken away, you'd have a lesser band. In the 70s and into the 80s, they were viewed as the definitive heavy metal band. They certainly inspired many to go their heavy way. But actually, they were an incredibly versatile and diverse band. Between the four of them, they played a bewildering array of instruments and having been a staff producer at Immediate Records as well as one of the most in demand sessionists in British rock history, Jimmy Page knew his way around the studio. I think John Paul Jones is one of the truly criminally underrated figures in rock history and for all Bonham's hard hitting style, he could also be incredibly deft and funky. I've long thought he was also the perfect folk rock drummer.
Zep are one band I could talk about throughout a plane flight from London to Adelaide.