Help! Issues with Bluetooth Mic when using External Lav Mic

smicka

I'm having some issues with my equipment - equipment is listed below. I'm new to video and audio recording!

- Sony PJ670 (Handycam) with stereo plug in power mic input jack
- Sony ECM-AW4 Bluetooth Microphone Set (Bluetooth Mic & Bluetooth Receiver) (made with electoret condenser)
- Giant Squid Audio Lab Omnidirectional mono mic (new) (made with electoret condenser)

Here's my setup:

- Plug in the Sony ECM-AW4 Bluetooth Receiver into Sony PJ670 with the ECM-AW4's included resistor (attenuator) cord. Right angle end plugged into receiver, straight end plugged into PJ670.

- I turn on ECM-AW4's Bluetooth Receiver and ECM-AW4's Bluetooth Microphone - they sync immediately. The resulting audio is FANTASTIC! The ECM-AW4 Mic has a built in 3.5mm mic input for an external mic (for a lav, for example). This way you can use the ECM-AW4 Mic as a wireless unit with a lav and avoid placing the ECM-AW4 mic in plain view near a talent's face (it is small but still too large to hide as a lav). The external mic input is plug in power according to Sony.

Here's where things go wrong:

- I plug in the Giant Squid Audio Lab Mic to the ECM-AW4 Mic's mini-jack mic input port, and immediately there are intermittent sounds of feedback or some kind of scratching sound. The Giant Squid Mic is nowhere near wind, clothing, or any other possible friction that could be causing the issue. The sound itself ranges in pitch and intensity. Any movement between the ECM-AW4 Receiver and the ECM-AW4 Mic causes the sound to intensify. If I unplug the microphone, the sound disappears instantly, and I experience clear audio once again. I can walk a fairly large distance away from the ECM-AW4 Receiver when the ECM-AW4 Mic is used without the Giant Squid attached as an external mic.