Hello all, first song since I gave up on music

sheppard_lee

More accurately, I gave up playing for a living to chase a different dream a few years back. I just got tired of sitting in a van with smelly, tired, grumpy people. I get pretty homesick at the drop of a hat. So instead, I got the bright idea of my current profession, which, in turn, led me even farther away from home. I wrote this on a desolate black volcanic beach in the West Indies near the coast of South America surrounded by nothing but a mountainous rainforest.

At an extremely young age, when one would presume that philosophical conversation would soar over my head, my late grandfather would constantly tell stories of the lives of successful, driven people. Lawyers, CEOs, and of course astronauts. He'd talk of the great achievements and wonders you could see that only a handful of humans have witnessed. And then he would talk of the sacrifice, the loneliness, the effects of space on your body. He was a mastermind of persuasion and storytelling, and at the end of the conversation I would find myself in a serious dilemma, weighing the pros and cons of chasing success before I was 10. I didn't know it at the time but he was planting seeds in my head about sacrifice and determination. I had completely forgotten these conversations and, for the first time in 20 years it returned to me. I think this sudden flashback came to me because I looked around and felt as if I was living on a foreign planet. It was as if he was sitting beside me, still coaching me up about the rewards of great sacrifice. I couldn't help but laugh. I wrote this down over the next three minutes and sloppily recorded it soon after. I hope you guys enjoy it. this was all a couple years ago but I haven't shared it. Since HR.com was such a huge help to me when I started recording, I figured it would only be appropriate to post this. To all the people who helped me out on this forum, thanks a million!