Good first mic for home studio.

Thisnameistaken

Hey guys. I think this is my first post!

Anyway i'm just getting started on getting a home studio put together. I mainly plan on recording guitars and vocals, and drums very possibly later on. Anything from mellow acoustic stuff to ballsy metal. I'm looking for some help selecting a good all purpose mic. I was strongly recommended the Shure SM7B. What do you guys think? and if there's something better or equal for cheaper shout it out. Or something way better for a little more perhaps? Budget = 400

Can't loose with the 58 man. As I'm sure you have heard, you can take the ball off for similar results as the 57. A pop screen with the ball off works quite well for vocals. You can always use it for live vocals, rehearsal, recording guitars, snare, toms, whatever really. It will always be usable in the future, and can give good results with built in interface preamps. I would save your money for a good pre before getting the SM7b. I had good results using a cheap ART TPS with the 7b, but nothing to write home about until I spent over a grand for a good pre.

I am not sure about the gain needed for the RE-20. Moresound will be back with that info soon. :)

These are the sensitivities for the various mics:

The Shure SM58 requires 54.5 dB of preamp gain.

The Shure SM57 requires 56 dB of preamp gain.

The EV RE-20 requires 57 dB of preamp gain.

The Shure SM-7B requires 59 dB of preamp gain.

These are the sensitivities for the various mics:

The Shure SM58 requires 54.5 dB of preamp gain.

The Shure SM57 requires 56 dB of preamp gain.

The EV RE-20 requires 57 dB of preamp gain.

The Shure SM-7B requires 59 dB of preamp gain.

Thank you.

dB's are logarithmic, mind you. And how where these measured?
The mic manufacturers tell their output voltage to a sound pressure, not preamp gain. But it differs -how they measure theirs, read the papers and get a hint but you cannot compare

Matti