Fostex R8 Calibration issues...

Dertodesking

Hey guys,

This is my first thread so bare with me.

A couple months ago i fell in love with tape. So i decided to introduce some r2r into my studio. I bought a Fostex R8, and then an other for spare parts. Change all the parts that were'nt up to snuff, cleaned and demaged-it. bought some reels of RMGI LPR35 and taught i was good to go. Unfortunatly, being the way i am, i wanted to make sure that everything was in order before i start recording. So i got myself a calibration tape from MRL. I ordered the 21J403 which is a 15isp, IEC, 355nWb/m tape.

So i started the calibration process, which, let me tell you isn't so easy on that machine. Ok, i'll admit it's my first time, but the service manual is badly written and confusing. So here's what i did so far:

- I could'nt check the speed and flutter since i don't have the test tape or the equipment.

- I adjusted the phase and the azimuth

- Calibrated the Input and Meter level

- Calibrated the Reproduce level

- Checked the frequency Response

Now when i get to the Bias section everything gets confusing. First the service manual says to check for Bias leakage, which i did for the Repro section but not for the Record section. I just can't find the test point #5 that they're talking about.

Then we move on to, Section 4.3.6 ''Erase current adjstment" in wihich they ask me to "Set the core of T-1 so that voltage at TP-6 reaches peak level". I'm really confused but the whole "Core of T-1" and how do i make it reach peak level.

Last but not least, my real problem hehehe. Section 4.3.7. Bias Current Adjustment. All the manual says is:

"Put all 8 tracks in the record mode. Hook the oscilloscope probe hot side to TP-1, and ground clip to GND. THen set the BIAS LVL pot,C101, at approximately 300 Vp-p over the peak point.