Essentials for home recording

lorper

So guys I'm working away and currently racking up gear that I think I will need for a home studio. I've been purchasing for the last few months. When I see a deal I jump at it and eventually I hope to have the time to be able to use it all ?.

I currently have

A desk with monitor wings
Tascam US1800 interface
Line 6 tone port UX2
An apex mic kit that comes with one condenser and two directional Mics. ( cheap set)
I have access to many expensive and inexpensive Mics for use anytime.
Presonus 5" monitors
MacBook Pro with Logic Pro X
EZ drummer 2
Multiple high end guitars
Tama silver star drums

I think that's all I need to get me started. The one thing I feel I may want is a midi keyboard. I don't want to ask stupid questions but I'm new to digital recording so what kind of uses could I get out of a midi keyboard? I see them at long n mcquade from $80 and up. Is there a certain one that is recommended. I'd like to stay on the low end of price for sure.

Can you PLAY a keyboard? If so, no brainer, get a 49 (better 61) keys kbd. Even if you are not grade 8 jo' a small keyboard controller would still be useful IMHO. Something with a few pads to smack would make recording drum sounds* easier. You can also play in basic bass lines (or any other instrument you can think of!) .

But! FFS get a kbd/controller with AT LEAST MIDI DIN out and preferably MIDI in as well (tho' the latter is getting ever rarer these days).

*Yeah, I know you have a drum kit! Bet it will be quite some time before you can make decent recordings of that!

Dave.

I use my small midi controller for composing drums (and of course synth parts). Obviously makes fiddling with and composing synth parts easier than writing notes on a piano roll. The midi controller is as important to me as a keyboard/mouse, even if I use it much less often. 6 years ago I didn't even own one. Now it's indispensable.