Electric - Guitar Rig 6

Hey guys bit of a noob here. I got a cheap haze guitar online, not sure if its that or my ears (or maybe both) but I'm going for a nice warm round distorted (semi decent studio quality) electric sound but what I'm getting is just too rusty, rough , over the top and unpleasant to listen to. Any pointers of what I'm doing wrong (what I'm using too much or not enough of)? So I'm using drum off my MIDI keyboard and have noise reduction to start off both my guitar tracks plugin chain. Got EQ scooping out the bottom end and boosting a little on the highs. Compressor too, even got a compressor on the master output but with or without all these it still seems a bit too harsh. Any feedback is appreciated

PS: Using desktop Win 10 64bit. Komplete audio 2 interface (native instruments) and the guitar rig.
I really haven't had much luck with audio interfaces, everything from condenser mics, acoustic guitars, electric guitar and even my MIDI keyboard sounds a bit rough and distorted.

Wine from Tears - Like a fallen leaf guitar jam - Guitar Rig 6 - YouTube

Last edited:
Distortion is kind of funny that way. What you hear in the room may sound just right, but what you pick up on the track might sound a LOT more distorted. Try pushing the gain or the distortion on the pedal or amp back a few notches.

Sounds like something pretty basic is going wrong here...but without anything to hear...we can only guess. So...post a sample for us and I'll bet we can walk you through the solution. What are you playing your tracks back on.....headphones....monitors...details?

Isn't the blue line of text a link to the sample? It's what I based my distortion comment on. I realize it was probably edited on, though...

Isn't the blue line of text a link to the sample? It's what I based my distortion comment on. I realize it was probably edited on, though...

OK. That works. I skipped that thinking it was part of your signature.. not a sample.