Double track panning with Guitar Rig distortion

danbord

Hi,

First of all, I'm new to cubase & stuff so be easy on me :)

I'd like to record guitar in double tracked (1 panned to the left and the other to the right). I want those 2 tracks to use the same FX distortion (with Guitar Rig), but I wan't them to keep their panning R and L.

As soon as a track is sent to the FX Track, I lose the paning of my original track.

What is the right way of doing what I need?

Thanks

Dan

If they are the same recording and you just copied, then it's going to sound like they are one mono track in the middle. The two tracks need to be different from each other. You can also nudge one track by a 10-20 milliseconds.

Also, you might consider not using Guitar Rig as a send effect, but rather as an insert.

Yep, one insert of Guitar Rig for each guitar track. Pan each track as you wish then send them to a group or whatever. That is really the only way to get two separate tracks.

Sorry Chili, but the track delay thing is an option for maybe something like an accent solo track IMO, but is really not a good start for a noob to think that this is a standard thing to do for a rhythm track. This could give the wrong impression to someone looking to learn how to record a good guitar track or start mixing.

I know I have argued this possibility in the past, but only for certain specific situations. I would not just double/delay a track unless I was looking to use the effect that it creates. It can also destroy a mix if used without knowing what it introduces.

I'll agree Jimmy, the delayed track trick gives a very unique signature sound and is not the best choice for most mixes. I prefer to just have two guitar parts myself, but sometimes the delayed track works well. I consider it another tool in the belt. And based on the OP's description, he's getting a mono sound because he had two identical tracks. Maybe I misread.