Boss BR-1180 nightmare

Madder

I have this digital recording studio. It has a hard drive etc, but no CD burner. I have over 30 songs recorded onto it. I've been putting things down on it for the past 4 years, I think.

Last night, when playing back a track for mixing, it stopped. I turned it off and back on(usually this solves the problem and it loads up the song it was last on). This time when it came back on, all the lights were lit up red. I cannot use the studio at all. I pray to God that the hard drive isn't blanked? Can anyone help me to save my recordings? I called the shop where it was bought and they are saying that they can send it off to Roland/Boss to be fixed or replaced at a cost etc., but if there is any way at all to save whats on the hard drive, I'd like to do it? Can anyone help?

Thanks.

There are companies in every city that specialize in data rescue and focus on hard drives from inoperable machines.

The don't work cheap though, so be prepared to go out of pocket if your 30 songs are really worth it to you.

This is like any other computer hard drive in the sense that it contains data. Unless you have gone into the commands on the machine and specifically commanded the hard drive to be formatted your data SHOULD be safe. Not guaranteed, but should be.

Take the hard drive out of the machine --- if possible --- and keep it if you do decide to ship the machine back to the manufacturer for service. If you can't find how to remove the hard drive on your own, ask the Roland tech service HQ for help. And don't panic --- this is not an uncommon situation.