Bad Guitar Tones

RTWmaniac

I'm a newbie here, so excuse the ignorance. I've been slowly getting better but I can't seem to get a good guitar tone in my mixes. Sometimes I play through a Fender combo and mic it for recording (with a cheap mic) and sometimes I'll go directly from the amp to the USB interface. I'm assuming it's not the best idea to plug a guitar directly into my USB interface for recording.

Recently, I've been reading about multi layering guitar tracks with panning and the like. So I'm about to dive head first into that.

Any general tips? Am I at least on the right track here? Thanks for any help!

When you say your tone "is not good," what do you mean? How does it sound right now? How would you like it to sound? And what style of music are you playing & recording?

Do you like the tone you hear with your ears, and just can't get it to mix well? If you don't like it at the source, I'd start there. After that, I'd get a decent mic (57 is great). I'd also check to see if you're using the eq section of your usb mixer, it might suck and you probably want to avoid it if possible. Do your eqing in the box.

But yes, it's become popular to double guitar tracks if you are very precise. Here's what I've found doubling tracks:
- tune your guitar meticulously after EVERY take
- use different tones and/or mic placements for different tracks, it will help add to the effect (I often do humbucker on a track and another with a single coil)

Good luck.

I can't really add much to what these guys have said but...

When I track guitars for metal, I turn down the gain first. I've found that I get it to sit better in the mix and it actually sounds better when recorded. If I normally play with my distortion cranked, I'll back it off to, say, 6.5 or 7. I'll also hi pass when EQing. I'll cut out the lows down around 150 hz or sometimes up to 250 hz. Just whatever the tune needs. Play around with it and you'll find it. Keep in mind tho, that it's