Audition 3 suddenly skipping / using 80-100% CPU

JAmes Crump

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've been using Audition 3 for about a year now with great success. My machine is a Compaq EVO510SFF w/ a 2G Pentium 4 & 1.5G of RAM, running XP Pro. The system is set up ACPI and although I've read that setting it up Standard PC might help, I've never had a single issue with A3 until now, and I'm mystified as to why this could suddenly be occuring. I really don't want to attempt to change to Standard PC, as I've read too much about the drawbacks, and this is currently my only machine. I'm a guitarist, and I do a lot of multitrack recording. I've always had to bounce any effects-heavy track and disable effects on that track, before recording any other track with effects. I've taken this in stride as a limitation of my machine. I could playback as many tracks as I wanted, included imported MP3's, WAV's etc... while recording another track with effects... all with no issues. Lately and suddenly, however, importing a single audio file with no overlaid effects while playing or recording on a track with any effects causes the imported file (and A3 in general, you can see it as well as hear it) to skip and stutter, sometimes for several seconds at a time. My machine is defragged on a regular basis, optimized for audio, CPU and RAM check out ok, no antivirus autostart or infection, all non-critical processes and services are routinely disabled and no change has been made to the machine at all...either before or after the problem started. I input and output (headphones) through an M-Audio JamLab, use GR3 as my amp modeler, and until this started, have NEVER experienced ANY detrimental issue. My HD is small to begin with (40G), and there's a little over 20 free. I routinely remove old .ses and wav's and archive (to flash or DVD) when I'm done due to the limited space. Any files I import are directly from my HD. Also, opening task mg