Apologies, need a sanity check...

LDS

Hi everyone.

This is my first try at mid/side on acoustic guitar.

I'm not sure about the balance between the acoustic and electric guitars. Most of the acoustic tracks are doubled on electric, and the guitarist keeps wanting the acoustic turned down to where I consider it basically inaudible. What is represented here is our compromise on that.

Acoustic was tracked with a Blue Reactor for the side and an MXL992 for the mid.
Electrics were just a 57 on the speaker cab.
Bass is a Gold Tone Micro Bass Electric direct through an ART TPS.
Drums were with a CAD drum mic set with 57s on snare top and bottom and MXL 603s for overheads and the Blue Reactor along with a pair of MXL 992s for room mics with a bit of compression on the way in with a Presonus ACP88.
Vocals were the Blue Reactor through the ART TPS.

I'm fairly happy with the mix, but could definitely use more sets of ears and any advice.

Thanks!

View attachment Apologies FM001 2016-06-23.mp3

not a fan of the huge verb tail on the vocal, and it sits worse during the heavy part. guitars all sound really good. didn't like the hi-hat at all, but cymbals sounded great. can't hear much of the bass.

I think this sounds pretty epic.
I see what you're saying about the reverb tail. I can't decide whether I like it or not. I'm generally a fan of lots of reverb though. I think that's a lot of what makes this song sound epic to me.
I agree the guitars sound amazing.
I feel like maybe the guitars are a hair too loud in the quieter sections of the song. They get in the way of the vocals a bit in my opinion.
Good sound, great sounding singer and great vocal performance.

Very nice playing. Vocal could come up for me. It sounds like the bass is masking your vocal here and there. I'm not a fan of that wet, overdriven guitar tone. It sounds like the over-FXs preset on an amp sim or modeling amp.