ADAT recording question

Warwick720

Hello!

This is my first time recording using an analog mixer and ADAT, and there are a few questions I would greatly appreciate some help with. I've only ever recorded through an interface into a DAW before, which I know is probably quite a bit more practical, but this time my band thought it would be cool to go a little more old-school and eliminate the computer from the process. Also, we'll be live-tracking all at once.

So far, I've got everything mic'd up, levels set at the preamps, preamps connected to the mixer. It seems that there would be two ways to connect the mixer to the ADAT:

1: Use the RCA stereo "Tape In" and "Tape Outs" and record onto only two channels of the ADAT.
2: Connect the output of every preamp channel to it's own channel of the ADAT. In this would I still use the tape Tape Ins to return the ADAT to the mixer? For this option I would need a LOT more new cables/RCA adaptors.

The gear I'm working with is a Mackie Micro 1202 and an Alesis lx20.

What would be the more practical approach? Would either/both actually work?

Thank you for your time and advice!
Preston

If you want everything on its own track, you don't have much of a choice. That said, I don't think that mixer actually has individual outputs...

If you want everything on its own track, you don't have much of a choice. That said, I don't think that mixer actually has individual outputs...

Right M. No direct outs.
It does have inserts on the mic channels 1 to 4. These are pretty ideal since they are Pre Fade Listen and pre EQ and unbalanced to suit the RCA ADAT inputs....BUT!

FCS make up some proper leads! TRS jack plugs with tip and ring linked and sleeve common. Do not listen to the "Half in, half out, half arsed One Click" brigade. That way madness lies....

Dave.

Oh, I hadn't thought of that! Thank you!