About white noise, pink noise, and brown noise

gopirate

hey i'm newbie here and i have some questions about pink noise, white noise, and brown noise.
i don't know what they are.
is there anybody can tell this to me?
point of them, and how they work.
thank you

hey i'm newbie here and i have some questions about pink noise, white noise, and brown noise.
thank you

White noise is the signal produced by any electronic device that has real resistance (this means a "perfect" capacitor and inductor produce no noise). It has a flat power/frequency response and the nose extends from DC to infinite frequency!
There isn't a lot of it for small value resistors, if you terminate a mic amp with 150 Ohms that resistor will generate about 0.23microvolts (-130dBu) which IS tiny but sets the noise floor for everything else and shows why the dynamic range of 24bit recording of -144dB is way out of reach!

White noise was usually generated by a reverse biased transistor junction but is today done digitally (when it is strictly "quasi" white noise) White noise generators are generally made to supply a filter to produce Pink noise. This has a power that falls at 3dB per octave and simulates much closer the power spectrum of music. The company where I worked use pink noise to drive amplifiers for heat rise and longevity tests.

Noise is a handy signal for general signal tracing and is less annoying than tone but be wary of putting high noise levels, especially white noise, thru amplifiers and tweeters, the amp might not be as tough as the ones I tested!

Unless you have good grounding in the use of noise and spectrum analysers (I don't!) it is of little use to the noob recordist.

I now await a slap from the Top Chaps here!

Dave.

Not directing this at the OP, because there's nothing wrong with knowledge.