All About Monitors

guitargirl7

I'm quite new to the recording world and have heard a lot about monitors lately. I read in this forum that while studio headphones are useful, they aren't going to help you as much as monitors will when it comes to mixing and mastering a song. I know that monitors can range from $100 - 500+, but I'm coming from a student budget. With that being said, I don't want to settle for cheap monitors that are going to hurt rather than help me in the long run. My question is what are the best monitors you would recommend for this situation?

Gear:
Toshiba Satellite L775D laptop
Scarlett 2i2 interface
PT 10
sm57 mic

Recording:
Guitar
Vocals

Budget limit: $150

I know that monitors can range from $100 - 500+
Monitors can range from "really cheap" boxes under $500 to "really nice" boxes at around maybe $2-3,000 and upwards of $25,000 or more also.

I'm not saying to buy $25,000 monitors (although I wouldn't argue with you if you did - Your monitoring chain is far and away the absolute most important part of your recording rig). But if you have a budget of $150, you're going to get (sorry, I'm going to say it) garbage. There is nothing out there worth a bowl of warm sinus fluid in the $150 range. At least $500 for "cheap" monitors is a reasonable place to start IMO/E. Save up, even if it takes a year.

This is great advice.
I worked my way up to Mackie Hr monitors and for a brief period believed that I'd never need to upgrade them.

While I do like them, I'm starting to realise that monitors like those Mackies really are more like an absolute minimum in terms of quality.

I'd rather mix on headphones or Hifi speakers that I know than any Alesis or Samsons or whatever.

Monitors can range from "really cheap" boxes under $500 to "really nice" boxes at around maybe $2-3,000 and upwards of $25,000 or more also.