I am a sucky guitarist because:

What makes you such a blowy guitarist?

• I don't know enough theory

Votes: 37 33.3%
  • My picking hand feels like a brick

Votes: 20 18.0%
  • My fretting hand is glacially slow

Votes: 24 21.6%
  • I blame my equipment (piece of shit guitar, amp says "Crate" on it, etc.)

Votes: 3 2.7%
  • I sound like crap unless I use a boatload of effects

Votes: 2 1.8%
  • Er...because I'm a drummer?

Votes: 12 10.8%
  • I'm refuse to play anything but "Smoke On The Water" on my Fender So-Cal

Votes: 2 1.8%
  • My name is acidrock

Votes: 11 9.9%

• Total voters
I voted for "I don't know enough theory." Truthfully, I'm actually a decent enough player, and I have a really good singing voice (from bass to tenor), but I've yet to figure out the knack for playing AND singing at the same time. It's either playing, or singing, otherwise I'd be trying to play the vocal part, or trying to sing the guitar part(s). Some of my acquaintances and friends are impressed with my playing...not because I'm any virtuoso by any stretch of the imagination, but because I can actually make noise happen that sounds like various songs they might be familiar with. I'm also self-taught, and my "chording" style is what I describe as "a cross between Django Reinhardt and Keith Richards" (due to a permanent injury in my left hand).

Matt

Tip...stick to 4ths and 5th intervals while singing...full chords will muddy up things anyhow.