Using backing tracks live...

Johnny Don't!

Hey kids. So while I'm not a newbie to this forum or to recording itself, I *AM* new to the idea of using backing tracks during a live show. I have used them sparsely in a previous band I was in, but it was only for a synth track and a drum loop.

I've started a new band and am having a TON of trouble finding a qualified bassist who is available at the level to which we need one, so the idea of having someone play the bass parts in-studio (to a tempo map, obviously) when we record next month and then using those bass tracks live as backing tracks came up.

I tend to be a traditionalist when it comes to playing live, meaning I want live musicians playing with me onstage, but if worse comes to worst, we might be forced to use bass backing tracks. So my question is, to all the musicians on this site, what are your thoughts/feelings/opinions on a live band using backing tracks for bass? Do you think it will take away from the live performances? Will it be cheesy? Will it affect the audience's enjoyment of the show?

Any input would be deeply appreciated.

Last edited:
I don't have a lot of experience with this but I'm thinking a backing track with bass only is going to be a nightmare to follow, especially on stage somewhere.
Drums and bass, sure, but bass only? I don't see it happening.

Sorry if I misunderstood at all.

Ah, I guess I should have been clearer: the bass backing track will be played via a DAW that will feed a click to our drummer, so he's the only one who has to follow the backing track/click; we will follow him.

We're also considering programming MIDI CCs to control our Line6 multieffects units for our guitars, as well as the effects & harmonies on the TC Helicon VoiceLive2 I will use on my vocals. Then down the road, we'll also include lighting cues & programs for a light show, maybe even video clips too.

Does that clear things up a bit?

They only answer is to get some loops and try it out.