Tascam FW-1804 for 175, buy it?

gdavi1

I have a chance to purchase a Tascam FW-1804 for 175 with software. I know it goes for around 500 brand new. I have been looking for a firewire interface to upgrade from the behringer usb mixer i have now. I just want a good amount of inputs with decent preamps. Should i buy it?

At that price, I dont see why not....IF it works.
I have heard so much bad stuff about those puppies that Im kinda weary of buying one myself, though I was and am tempted to, they just seem like such a good deal.
Maybe someone else with real hands on experience can pitch in here.

Mike

Alot of review i have heard said they seem to be flawless on macs and thats what im running so i can only hope for the best worse comes to worse i guess the resale value would be around the same as im purchasing

I've been running one on a Mac for 3 years now. It's been great. In the beginning I was just thrilled by 8 ins to my mac via Firewire--though I never really used all of 'em at the time!

Now, it's still the "hub of connectivity" in my studio, with 8 more preamp channels coming through it via ADAT, and external pre's in 6 of the 8 Tascam channels--for a total of 16. (BTW-- the Tascam pres are fine--should definitely be better than your Behringer).

Don't know if you do MIDI, but the midi connections are great too. I use those as well.

If you end up getting it, PM me if you need any help with it. Like I said, I've been using mine to death for quite a while. (Oh yeah--I paid $600 for mine!)

I have a chance to purchase a Tascam FW-1804 for 175 with software. I know it goes for around 500 brand new. I have been looking for a firewire interface to upgrade from the behringer usb mixer i have now. I just want a good amount of inputs with decent preamps. Should i buy it?