Resources and methods for improving on guitar

I've been playing guitar for 25 years and while I've got to a good level, I'm at the stage where I want to push myself further...but I'm not sure about the best way to go about it.

I'm entirely self taught, having started off with a few books but mainly learnt by ear, picking out songs. I hardly gave any attention to lead playing until a few years ago when I got a book about the CAGED technique which opened my eyes about understanding the fretboard. I would particularly like to take my lead playing further.

At one point I decided I would simply sit down and learn parts from records but this isn't happening. I need something more structured. I'd still prefer to work from something at home rather than going to a teacher (although I'm not totally opposed to that) so I'm thinking maybe a DVD or a book.

I once saw a DVD by Allan Holdsworth but all he did was to play through a few chord progressions and scales. It was more like an insight into his technique rather than a tutorial. I'd like goals to work towards, specific exercises etc.

Any thoughts would be welcome.

Last edited:
Check out Guitar Techniques Magazine | MusicRadar

It's UK based. It is available on iPad via the Newsstand, not sure about other tablets. Much better (and cheaper) than the print version because you can just tap on the screen to hear the examples or backing tracks vs. managing a CD player plus propping up the mag and turning pages somehow.

It is very, very good and it will improve your playing even if you just do a few of the lessons. I buy an issue every few months. The reason I don't have a subscription is that each issue is so jam packed with stuff I can't get get through it all before the next issue is out.

J

Check out Guitar Techniques Magazine | MusicRadar