Rackmount computer cases

pointfive

Has anyone here built a PC using a rackmountable case? Here are examples: http://www.directron.com/raccas.html

If so, do you have any recommendations? I'm thinking of building a PC using one of these, but I've had limited experience with them, so I'm not sure how quiet they are, how well they mount into studio racks, etc.

Any advice will be well appreciated!

The best advice I can offer is make sure you get one big enough for a regular sized power supply 3u and 4u cases should be fine. The smaller cases take a specialized power supply, and they are less than ideal for everyday use, let alone recording. Sure it may take up an extra couple of rack spaces, but it'd be worth it. Also the 3 and 4u cases are easier to keep cool, for obvious reasons. Also, with 1 and 2u cases, they use riser cards, that change teh angle of how your PCI cards mount, and usually have no room for more than 1 or 2, let alone an AGP riser (if you have a decent video card) 4u cases are pretty much exactly the same as any other pc case, except it's rack mountable. That's really the only difference, other than the internal layout, which isn't always all that different. When selecting your fans, you can usually see the db level they produce in the item notes, that and purchasing the iso pad kit for computer cases and I'd say you'd have yourself a nice fairly quiet PC. I've never mounted one in an actual "rack" yet, but the width is the same as any other rack unit, so I'd say that should be a non-issue.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...ce=&MaxPrice=&SubCategory=412&Submit=Property

I built my recording PC in a rackmount case as well. It was just as simple as building in a regular case, and fits fine in any rack - looks pretty cool too! I actually mounted the unit in a rack which I built into an isolation box, which I designed and built myself. It really helps keep the noise down.